Grand Prix Rider

DAVID ARCAND

DAVID ARCAND

DAVID ARCAND, Grand prix level rider

(Look at David’s horses)

David Arcand began horseback riding at the age of eight. Back then, he stood out at both regional competitions and the Jeux équestres du Québec. Upon making his debut on Quebec’s national circuit, David immediately outshone his competitors. His success would extend outside of the province and at the age of 13, David was named Equine Canada’s “Junior Equestrian of the Year 2003” and become the recipient of the Gillian Wilson trophy.

In early August of 2007, David represented Quebec at the North American Junior Young Rider Championships in Lexington, Virginia (U.S.). Here, David won one silver medal with his team, and another at the individual level. In September 2007, he qualified for the Canadian final at the National Talent Squad. To top this, David was crowned Talent Squad Vice-Champion at the Royal Horse Show.

During the 2008 season, David once again qualified for the Canadian final of the Talent Squad circuit. In the weeks that followed, David competed in the Royal Horse Show, this time winning the title of National Talent Squad Champion. For a second time, Equine Canada recognized David’s outstanding performance and named him “Junior Rider of the Year 2008.”

Over the course of the 2009 season, the young rider participated in world cup qualifying trials. He landed a 6th place finish at International Bromont and a 3rd place finish at Halton Place. Additionally, he qualified to participate at the Royal Winter Fair’s Canadian Championships.

David performed exceptionally well at Wellington, Florida’s 2010 Winter Equestrian Festival, bringing home the G &C Farm Young Riders Grand Prix. During this competition, David also participated in four CSI ** and CSI*** events, competing with the best riders in the world. Back in Quebec, David achieved victory in the 2010 Via Rail Double Slalom. That same year, he rode to a 4th place finish at the World Cup qualifying trials which were held in Quebec as part of International Bromont. In June, David had the opportunity to gain valuable experience riding alongside the greats at Alberta’s Spruce Meadows.

On Florida’s 2011 winter circuit, David rode a brilliant series. Placing 3rd out of 60 horse/rider teams in the Artisan Farm Young Rider Grand Prix Series, David qualified for the European Youngster Cup, held in April in Leipzig, Germany. This event proved to be an important moment for the 21-year-old equestrian who, at such an early age, had earned the honour to represent his country against the world’s most elite young riders.

During 2012, David Arcand acquired the new horses Vledder and Cassis Z Ten Halven. He would train these two horses over the course of that year. His preparations led the way for an extraordinary 2013 season. After dominating the summer circuit with Cassis Z Ten Halven, David Arcand won the gold medal at the Tournée équestre provinciale du Québec. At the Royal Winter Fair, David was crowned the Vice Champion of the National Talent Squad Final. With Vledder, he competed in Grand-Prix and World Cup trials at heights ranging from 1.5 to 1.6 m. Attaining 9th, 10th, 5th, 8th and 2nd place finishes, he accumulated points in the FEI Longines ranking. Ranked 20th in Canada, he earned his ticket to participate in the Royal Winter Fair’s Canadian Championships.

In January of 2014, David Arcand was placed on Equine Canada’s shortlist for 2014.

2014 was a big year for Arcand, during which he won no fewer than 5 Grand Prix titles in Quebec. David rode to these victories on Emmanuelle Bolduc’s mare Candidate du Marquet. With Cassis Z Ten Halven, Arcand also won a modified Grand Prix at Angelstone in Ontario.

Additionally, David received an Aramis trophy in the category “Most accomplished senior athlete in classical riding in Quebec/Canada.”

In 2012, David Arcand became the owner of Écuries Santos, an equestrian training centre that specializes in show jumping.

Throughout his career, David Arcand has worked with a remarkable number of the equestrian world’s biggest names. For four years, he was coached by both John Pearce, former member of Canada’s national team, and Marie Hécart, the renowned French equestrian. He completed dressage courses with Jurgen Von Butlar, one of the finest specialists in North America.

Presently, David is traning with the Eric Lamaze team, and works in close collaboration with both Lamaze and four times Canadian Champion, Yann Candele, four-time Canadian champion.

See his results and his horses.

 

Comments are closed.

Cavalier Grand Prix

DAVID ARCAND

DAVID ARCAND

DAVID ARCAND , athlète identifié « Élite »

(voir les chevaux de David)

David Arcand a débuté l’équitation à l’âge de 8 ans. À cette époque, il se distingue dans les compétitions régionales et aux Jeux équestres du Québec. Il se fait remarquer aussitôt qu’il débute sur le circuit national du Québec. Puis, au niveau canadien, il est nommé à l’âge de 13 ans par Canada Hippique «Cavalier Junior de l’année 2003» et devient le récipiendaire du trophée Gillian Wilson.

Au début du mois d’août 2007, à Lexington (Virginie, E.U.) en tant que membre de l’équipe représentant le Québec aux Championnats nord-américains pour Junior et Jeune Cavalier, David Arcand remporte deux médailles d’argent, une en équipe et l’autre à titre individuel. En septembre 2007, il se qualifie pour la finale canadienne du Circuit des Espoirs, et dans le cadre du Royal Horse Show, il remporte le titre de Vice-Champion national du Talent Squad.

Lors de la saison 2008, il se qualifie à nouveau pour la finale canadienne du circuit des Espoirs (dit Talent Squad). Dans les semaines suivantes, dans le cadre du Royal Horse Show, il remporte le titre de Champion national du Talent Squad. Canada Hippique lui décerne alors pour une deuxième fois le titre «Cavalier Junior de l’année 2008 ».

Au cours de la saison 2009, ce jeune cavalier participe à des épreuves qualificatives pour la Coupe du Monde. Il décroche une 6e place dans le cadre de l’International Bromont et une 3e place à Halton Place. De plus, il se qualifie pour participer au Championnat canadien au Royal Winter Fair.

Au cours de l’hiver 2010, il se distingue sur le circuit du Festival équestre d’hiver (WEF) à Wellington, en Floride, en remportant le Grand-Prix G &C Farm Young Riders, en plus de participer à quatre épreuves CSI ** et CSI*** avec les meilleurs cavaliers au monde. La même année au Québec, il triomphe avec une victoire dans le Double Slalom Via Rail et se mérite une 4e place lors de l’épreuve qualificative pour la Coupe du Monde dans le cadre de l’International Bromont. De plus, en juin, il acquiert une belle expérience lors d’un séjour parmi les plus grands à Spruce Meadows (Alberta).

En 2011, David connait une séquence exceptionnelle sur le circuit d’hiver en Floride dans les classes Artisan Farm Young Rider Grand Prix Series en se qualifiant (3e devant 60 équipes cavalier/cheval) pour la finale de la Coupe des Nations pour Jeunes Cavaliers qui s’est tenue en avril à Leipzig en Allemagne (European Youngster Cup). Ce fut un grand moment et tout un honneur pour le cavalier alors âgé de 21 ans de représenter son pays parmi l’élite mondiale des «Jeune Cavalier ».

David Arcand acquiert de nouveaux chevaux, Vledder et Cassis Z Ten Halven qu’il forme durant l’année 2012. Cette préparation annonçait une saison 2013 tout à fait exceptionnelle. David Arcand remporte la médaille d’or de la Tournée équestre provinciale du Québec après avoir dominé durant tout l’été le circuit avec Cassis Z Ten Halven. Il décroche également le titre de vice-champion de la Finale nationale du Circuit des espoirs (Talent Squad), au Royal Winter Fair. Avec Vledder, il a concouru dans des épreuves Grand-Prix et qualificatives de Coupe du Monde à 1,50 – 1,60 m. Avec des 9e, 10e, 5e, 8e et 2e places, il a cumulé des points dans le classement FEI Longines. Situé au 20e rang au Canada, il a obtenu son passeport pour participer au Championnat canadien au Royal Winter Fair.

En janvier 2014, David Arcand est nommé sur la Liste Courte 2014 de Canada Hippique.

Toujours en 2014, David Arcand ne remporte pas moins de 5 Grands Prix au Québec avec la jument Candidate du Marquet, appartenant à Emmanuelle Bolduc. Il remporte aussi un Grand Prix Modifé à Angelstone en Ontario avec Cassis Z Ten Halven.

David est aussi récipiendaire du trophée Aramis dans la catégorie « Athlète Sénior s`étant le plus illustré au Québec/Canada en équitation classique »

Depuis 2012, David Arcand est propriétaire des Écuries Santos, un centre d`entraînement spécialisé en saut d`obstacles.

Il est à noter que David Arcand, au cours de sa carrière, a travaillé avec de grands noms du sport équestre. Il a été entraîné pendant 4 ans par John Pearce, ancien membre de l`équipe canadienne, par Marie Hécart, membre de l`équipe française. Il a suivi des cours de dressage avec Jurgen Von Butlar, un des meilleurs spécialistes en Amérique du Nord.

Actuellement, David s’entraine avec l’équipe d’Éric Lamaze et travaille aussi en étroite collaboration avec Yann Candele, 4 fois champions Canadien.

Allez voir ses résultats et ses chevaux.

Comments are closed.